widemargin2

What do you want?

My family know all too well I have one enormous failing. I am an absolutely awful person to buy gifts for. I don’t do fancy stuff, and I’m pretty low maintenance. I dread the question, “Mum, what do you want for your birthday?” It’s not good. They want to bless me, make me smile, give me something I’ll enjoy, and I can’t think of anything I need!

God has loads of gifts he wants to give us. What do you want? Don’t waste your time asking for tacky stuff. And in this passage, Matthew 7:7-12, I don’t think Jesus was talking about basic essentials. No this is about the really valuable, precious gifts. And it’s for something you really, really want. Begging for it, hunting it down, hammering on the door for it.

Matthew 7:7-12

Matthew 7:7-12

The difficulty we have, is that, like me, we don’t know what we want, so we don’t desperately seek it out. There’s a list of some of the gifts available to us in 1 Corinthians 12.

1 Corinthians 12:8-11

1 Corinthians 12:8-11

And we can be fooled into thinking that we just have to wait and see what gift(s) the Holy Spirit chooses to impart to us. But look down the page to the end of the chapter. The gifts are placed into an order of seniority, and we are commanded to ‘EAGERLY DESIRE the greater gifts’.

And so we come back to Matthew 7 – God has good gifts for us, and we must beg for them, hunt them down, and hammer on Heaven’s door. We can be assured that he will never give us anything that will harm us, for he is a good Father, and knows how to give good gifts. So there’s nothing to fear there.

Take a look through that list of gifts. What do you want? What do you really want? You aren’t restricted to just one gift. What restricts me, and probably most of us, is the wanting. We don’t do enough of it. And we don’t do it eagerly. We’re aware that gifts come with a responsibility. Using them. The parable of the talents makes that clear enough (Matthew 25:14-30). We need to shake off that lethargy. It holds us back from all God has for us.

God has only good gifts for us. Ask for them, seek them, hammer for them, with everything you’ve got. What do you want?

 

Leave a Reply

