Whatever it takes

I must irritate my family something chronic! I do love chocolate – but not in the way most people do. I NEED to have it there, in the fridge, ready to eat any time I fancy it; but so long as it is there, I’m happy – I don’t often eat it! So a bar of chocolate can last me literally months (I still have some left from Christmas!). BUT woe betide anyone else pinching it on me! They have to look but not touch. Hahaha!

Temptation is all around us. It’s part of the world we live in. Jesus dealt with the subject of adultery in Matthew 5:27-30. He said that “anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart.” Here’s the thing. Noticing a person, even noticing that they look attractive, is not the problem. It’s not looking once, but looking the second time. You can’t help noticing, but you can help looking. That is the choice. And that is where the problems take root. Letting yourself go down that street. The issue is – how much do you want to stay pure – in this or any other area? How important is it to you, that you do not fall into sin?

Sin separates us from God. That is why Jesus chose to sacrifice himself on the cross, to take away our sins, so that we could have a relationship with God our Father. Choosing to sin – looking twice – creates a blockage and damages our relationship with God. Jesus was willing to give his life to undo that. It may seem a bit dramatic to talk about gouging out eyes and cutting off hands to stop ourselves from sinning, but Jesus went much further even than that. How far are you willing to go?

I need to get to the point where I will say, “I will do whatever it takes to stop myself from falling into this particular sin.” For some, that might mean relinquishing the credit card, or the internet. For others, it will be to break off an unhelpful relationship. It might mean changing your job, or moving area. It might be a matter of confessing and sharing the issue with someone, however difficult you find that. It might mean making a hard decision.

It’s whatever it takes.

Leave a Reply

