That’s my boy!

My granddaughter was telling me that her mum and dad had been so pleased with her after they’d spoken to her teacher at parents’ night, that they’d given her some new art materials. Actually, we had all been immensely pleased with her a lot sooner than that. Her brothers too. We were thrilled to bits with them all from the minute of their arrivals on planet earth. We loved them all to distraction from the moment we clapped eyes on each one of their tiny forms. They didn’t have to perform well for that; it just came with the territory of belonging to our family.

I love what God said about Jesus after his baptism (Matthew 3:16-17). “This is my Son, whom I love. With him I am well pleased.” What had Jesus done to earn such high esteem? Absolutely nothing! His ministry on earth had not even begun. True, he had put himself forward for John’s baptism, which had demonstrated his obedience and submission to Father God, and he had of course lived a sinless life thus far. But those were the outworking of who he was. What was it that prompted Father God’s uncontainable outburst of joy? I think it was simply love! There was a uniting of Father, Son and Spirit at that moment, that spoke of their oneness, and evoked this wholehearted declaration of their relationship. “That’s my boy!” This water baptism marked the beginning of something new as Jesus moved into the ministry of everything he had come to do, but his Father’s love was upon him because of who he was, not what he did.

Like the children in our family. We love them because of who they are, not because of what they have done.  And we are able to do that because God did it first. He showed us how. He demonstrated it in Jesus, but he also demonstrates it every day of our lives. He loves every one of us to distraction regardless of anything we have or have not done. There is a saying. “Nothing I can do can make him love me more, and nothing I can do can make him love me less.” It’s living in that security that enables us to achieve stuff with our lives. To be and do all we are called to.

Whatever love you have received from your human family, isn’t it good to know God looks at you and says, “You are my child whom I love. I’m so pleased with you.”

2 Comments

  1. Lade K

    This has really touched my heart and brought to my awareness afresh how I’m not expected to do anything to qualify for God’s love. His love is what qualified me in the Son. It’s overwhelming thinking about it. I literally feel a sweet heaviness on my inside…the kind of heaviness that puts you in awe of God.
    Thank you for penning this words down. Know God has used you to help me more today. Thank you

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your comment. It thrills my heart to know you have been so blessed. It makes it all worthwhile! May God continue to bless you richly as you enjoy being his beloved child.

      Like

Leave a Reply

